

## **GOLF CARTS FAQs**

- (Q) Who can have their vehicle/golf carts inspected?
- (A) Any Miami Township resident who has a vehicle that gualifies.
- (Q) What do I need to do to get my vehicle/golf cart inspected?

(A) Call Miami Township Police Department at 513-248-2721 Monday-Friday 8 AM-4 PM and ask to speak to an officer about scheduling an inspection appointment.

(Q) Where can I get my vehicle/golf cart inspected?

(A) The appointment can be made to bring the vehicle/golf cart to the police department, or we can make the appointment to come to your house.

- (Q) How much does the inspection cost?
- (A) We do not charge a fee to inspect your vehicle/golf cart.

(Q) What equipment is required for the vehicle/golf cart to pass inspection?

(A) Brakes, two brake lights, two headlights, two taillights, turn signals, steering mechanism, windshield, rearview mirror, tires in safe condition. Ohio DPS Form 1373

(Q) What do I do once the vehicle/golf cart is inspected?

(A) You will take the inspection form to the title office to get a title for the vehicle, and then to the BMV for license plates.

(Q) Once my vehicle/golf cart is titled and licensed who can drive it?

- (A) Any licensed driver obeying all Ohio traffic laws.
- (Q) Can my 14-year-old drive my golf cart?
- (A) No, only licensed drivers can operate the golf cart on the roadway.
- (Q) What streets can I drive my vehicle/golf cart on?
- (A) Any Miami Township Street with a speed limit of 25 mph or lower.
- (Q) Can I only drive during daylight hours?
- (A) The law does not have time restrictions attached.
- (Q) Do I need insurance?

(A) Once licensed, you must have insurance. Most companies will add it to your vehicle or homeowner's policy.

(Q) Can I get my side-by-side licensed?(A) Not under this Resolution. The Clermont County Title Office does not recognize a side-byside under this law for roadway usage if marked AT – off road use only.

(Q) I've had the speed regulator removed or adjusted and my golf cart goes more than 20 MPH, can I get it licensed?

(A) No, if your golf cart goes faster than 20 MPH, it is no longer street legal.